What Is Divorce Grief?

People who are divorcing experience grieving emotions
that are similar to the ones we feel when a loved one dies.

What is divorce grief?

So exactly what is divorce grief? What are the stages?

In 1969, based on her years of working with terminal cancer patients, psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross introduced what became known as the “five stages of grief”.

It’s important for people divorcing to understand the stages of grief and their place in it, so they can progress towards healing. It is also important to understand that people move through the stages differently and with different reactions. Some people move through the stages rapidly and are quickly able to feel peace and renewed hope. Others move much more slowly and struggle with the sense of loss and sadness for years. Some will always experience intermittent sadness.

Kübler-Ross’ stages of grief have evolved to include the following stages:

  • Shock and Denial: “This can’t be happening to me.”
  • Anger: “Why is this happening? Who is to blame?”
  • Bargaining: “Make this not happen, and in return I will ____.”
  • Depression: “I’m too sad to do anything.”
  • Understanding and Acceptance: “I’m at peace with what is going to happen/has happened.”
  • Management and Action Plan: “I am ready to make plans for the future.”

To learn more about emotions during a divorce, you can read my free e-book, “Does Every Divorce Need a Shark?”

Are you asking yourself “what is divorce grief” and “am I experiencing it”? Need advice on making decisions regarding your divorce? Contact me or call 239-210-7516. Find out how to divorce as friends to create a peaceful ending and a new beginning.

Divorce Grief



     Posted on March 1, 2013 at 4:17 pm | No comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *